Safety award winners recognised

St John of God Health Care’s top safety champions over the last year were recently recognised as winners of the 2019 Tony Howarth Leadership in Health, Safety and Wellness Awards.

13 February 2020 

The winners were:

The Tony Howarth Leadership in Health, Safety and Wellness Awards celebrate and showcase examples of great occupational health and safety leadership across the organisation.

The year’s awards, which are once again sponsored by HESTA, received 23 nominations from 13 hospitals and services.

Find out more about each winner

Category 1: A solution to an identified OHS issue

Winner: Occupational Health and Safety Manager Amber Atkinson for her approach to addressing verbal aggression at St John of God Pinelodge Clinic.

Category 2: Most outstanding Health and Safety Representative

Winner: Occupational Therapist Anne-Marie Thompson, for her passion, enthusiasm and commitment to managing risk and resolving issues in both patient and caregiver safety at St John of God Mt Lawley Hospital.

Category 3: Best example of safety leadership

Winner: Program Coordinator Brett Sutton who lead the way in implementing the MAPA Foundation and Advanced Course at St John of God Midland Public and Private Hospitals.

Category 4: Commitment to health and wellbeing

Equal winners: St John of God Bendigo Hospital for their strategic approach to holistically supporting caregiver health and wellbeing and St John of God Geraldton Hospital for their 'Wellness Week' where caregivers had the opportunity to take some time out to educate and remind themselves of the importance of their own health and wellbeing.

You may be interested in