Our Trustees have overall responsibility for St John of God Health Care. They bring a wealth of skills and experience to the organisation.

The Trustees exercise a range of authorities, including the appointment and evaluation of Governing Board members and ensuring that our ministry remains faithful to its role within the Catholic Church.

The Trustees meet 11 times a year.

St John of God Health Care Chairman of the Trustees, Eva Skira


Trustee Chair since 1 January 2014

Trustee since February 2012 and Deputy Chairman from 1 January 2013 to 31 December 2013

  • Career in commerce and financial markets, gaining an MBA from the renowned IMD International in Switzerland
  • Executive positions at Commonwealth Bank and Barclays de Zoete Wedd, followed by consulting in business, project management and strategic advice
  • More than 25 years’ experience as director on boards in business, government, education and the not-for-profit sectors
  • St John of God Health Care Board Member from 1999 to 2008 and Deputy Chairperson from 2008 to 2012
  • Current Director Macmahon Limited and Western Power

Rev Dr Joseph Parkinson – STL PhDSt John of God Health Care Trustee Rev Dr Joseph Parkinson

Deputy Chairman since January 2014

Trustee since October 2009

  • Ordained for the Archdiocese of Perth in 1981
  • Postgraduate in Moral Theology from the Alphonsian Academy in Rome (STL) and The University of Notre Dame Australia in Fremantle WA (PhD)
  • Director of LJ Goody Bioethics Centre in Perth WA since 2003
  • Concurrent appointments: Adjunct Associate Professor in the School of Philosophy and Theology, University of Notre Dame Australia (Fremantle Campus); Non-executive director, Loving for Life (WA) Inc.; Member of WA Department of Health Reproductive Technology Council; Clinical Ethics Consultancy, Perth Children’s Hospital; St John of God Health Care Human Research Ethics Committee
St John of God Health Care Trustee Frank Cooper

Mr Frank Cooper – AO B.Com (UWA)

Trustee since January 2015

  • Extensive business experience spanning more than 30 years and an outstanding record of community service
  • Member of the Senate of the University of Western Australia and Chair of its Strategic Resources Committee
  • Current Director of Woodside Petroleum Limited and South 32 Limited, and Chairman of the Insurance Commission of Western Australia
  • Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors
  • Awarded an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2014 and West Australian of the Year – Professions category in 2015

St John of God Health Care trustee Danielle CroninMs Danielle Cronin - BEcon, MPPP, MAICD, MACEL 

Trustee since January 2018

  • Extensive senior leadership experience in Catholic education at state and national level, including extended terms on the NSW and National Catholic Education Commissions
  • Member of the Australian Catholic Council for Pastoral Research and member of the Catholic Church’s Royal Commission Implementation Advisory Group and member of the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Education Council’s Data Strategy sub-group
  • Current Director of Jesuit Education Australia and Good Samaritan Education
  • Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and Australian Council of Educational Leadership
  • Awarded Australian Churchill Fellowship in 2008
St John of God Health Care Trustee Mary McComish

Mrs Mary McComish – LLB (UWA), LLM (London)

Trustee since July 2013

  • Trustee of MercyCare WA 
  • Formerly a barrister in the Supreme Court of Western Australia and Associate Professor of Law at The University of Notre Dame for 10 years
  • Dean of Law at The University of Notre Dame from 2005 until her retirement in 2007
  • Director of Daydawn Advocacy Centre from 2013 to 2016, an initiative of the Catholic Church in the Archdiocese of Perth on behalf of Aboriginal people
St John of God Health Care Trustee John (Jack) Moore

Mr John (Jack) Moore – MAICD

Trustee since July 2013

  • Extensive business experience in marketing, advertising and public relations, including 28 years as principal of his own business providing services to a large range of companies
  • Involved in financial/property governance for the Diocese of Sandhurst
  • Board Member of Mercy Health and Aged Care in Victoria 1996 to 2017
  • Represented the Diocese of Sandhurst as Member of St John of God Australia Limited from October 2010 to 30 June 2013
  • Board Member of Mount Alvernia Hospital Bendigo (now St John of God Hospital Bendigo) from 1987 to 1996 and Chairman from 1990 to 1996
St John of God Health Care Trustee Mark Murphy

Mr Mark Murphy – LLB (UWA), BJuris (UWA), FLWA

Trustee since January 2014

  • General Manager for the Australian Region of the Sisters of St John of God
  • Previously General Counsel and Company Secretary St John of God Health Care
  • Affiliate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, member of the Law Society of WA, member of the Australian Corporate Lawyers Association and an alumni of Leadership WA’s Signature Leadership Program

Hon Neville Owen AO, KCSG - LLB (Hons), LLD (Hon) St John of God Health Care Trustee Hon Neville Owen

Trustee since January 2020

  • Extensive legal experience spanning more than 40 years’ including almost 20 years as a judge of the WA Supreme Court
  • Exceptional corporate governance expertise as judge and later as the Royal Commissioner reviewing the collapse of the HIH Insurance group
  • Current member of Pontifical Commission for the Protection of Minors appointed by Pope Francis in 2018, member of the Australian Catholic Bishops Commission’s Implementation Advisory Group and Chair of the Church’s Governance Review Project
  • Former Chair of the Australian Catholic Bishop’s Commission Truth Justice and Healing Council
  • Trustee and former Chancellor of The University of Notre Dame Australia

Adjunct Professor Susan Pascoe AM - BA, Dip Ed, GDSE, M Ed Admin (Hons), FAICD, FIPAA, FACE St John of God Health Care Trustee Susan Pascoe

Trustee since May 2018

  • Wide-ranging experience in government and not-for-profit sectors focused on consultancy regarding governance, review, strategic planning and leadership on top of early career experience in education
  • Represented Australia at the highest levels including at the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO), United National World Education Form and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
  • Former Chair and Chief Executive Officer of the Catholic Education Commission of Victoria Board and current President and Chair of the Australian Council for International Development, and Chair of the Community Directors' Council
  • Inaugural Commissioner for the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission from 2012 to 2017, former Commissioner of the State Services Authority in Victoria and Commissioner for the Royal Commission into Victoria’s Black Saturday Bushfires
  • Awarded a Member of the Order of Australia in 2007 and winner of the National Leadership in Government award in 2016
  • Adjunct Professor at the University of WA